The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Well, I’ve actually started reading this a week ago but somehow it took longer for me to post because I was busy this week. Anyways, how I came across this book was when I was recommended two different books for my next reading in class. One was the Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb and the Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. Normally, I would have gone for Assassin’s Apprentice because my taste in genres usually go for the action-dystopian-mystery-YA fiction, but I chose Lovely Bones. Why? I’m not 100% sure myself, but I guess I’ve first got hooked from the blurb.

It goes:  ‘”My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.” So begins the story of Susie Salmon, who is adjusting to her new home in heaven, a place that is not all what she expected, even as she is watching life on earth continues without her-her friends trading rumors about her disappearance, her killer trying to cover his tracks, her grief-stricken family unraveling.’

Not hooked yet? Well, another thing that hooked me is the pretty good movie trailer of the Lovely Bones. Though it looks somewhat slightly different from the story of the actual book, I really like how heaven is portrayed in the movie (it made me think of a personal utopia, a perfect world; but then again, it’s not all what it seems).

I found it really interesting how Susie almost seems to be alive, but she’s actually not and the author wrote it in a way, very subtly, so that Susie was continuing her life in 1973.  It’s taking me a long time to read it because I’m afraid of missing out even the smallest detail of her story, but I find it quite enjoyable to read it slowly for once without rushing it. The Lovely Bones to me is a book that has a complex idea, but with an interesting gist of an idea of a girl who is still ‘alive’ in her ‘world’ as her murderer is unsuspected by the police unlike her family (especially her dad). She tries and tries to communicate several times as she watches her family suffer from her death, but is yet unable to do so. Although I’m far yet to see my finger turn to the last page of the Lovely Bones and see the end of the murderer’s tracks, I’m willing to wait for the surprise and continue the long journey of page 117 to 328 (211 pages left!).

Leave a Reply

